Snowy Days Are Made For Contemplation

I’ve been meaning to start a blog about my adventures in rural life in NJ for awhile now, but then something always comes up, I get distracted and it never happens. Luckily (?), NJ is being hit by yet another winter storm, so I have some time on my hands…

DSC_0443

Fifteen years ago I moved from Louisiana to New Jersey to go to college.  I ended up in the city of Camden, NJ, which is infamous for being the “Most Dangerous City In The U.S.”.  I didn’t know that little piece of information at the time, Camden was just where my college campus was. It was a bit of a shock, to say the least.  It also left me wondering what they were smoking when they decided to call NJ “The Garden State”.

I’ve always been one to roll with the punches, though, and it was only a 4 year degree.  I could survive for that long, then I’d get the hell out of there and back to someplace green.

Then I met a guy.  Guys ruin all your plans. I ended up marrying that guy and never did leave NJ.

Fifteen years, one husband and two kids later, I’ve learned that there is a lot more to The Garden State than just cities and suburbs. There are little pockets of rural-ty scattered all over the state, you just have to know where to find them.

I’ve found one of them, down here in the southern-most tip of NJ. Here, we’ve made ourselves a home on a little hobby farm with our chickens, ducks, and horses.

Welcome to The Garden State. We’re not The Sopranos or The Real Housewives, we’re actually far more entertaining! I hope you’ll join us in our adventures in learning to how keep it rural here in New Jersey!

Leave a Reply

